A group composed of well-followed social media influencers and bloggers dubbed as ‘Concerned online citizens’ has submitted the 21st petition calling to junk the controversial Anti-Terrorism Law.

The group told the Supreme Court that their frequent use of the internet and social media to voice out criticisms to the government may land them in jail for being suspected as terrorists under the provisions of the said law.

“The Anti-Terrorism Act presents a clear threat on the free exercise by the citizens of their fundamental right to speak on issues of national importance, albeit online,” the group said, adding that some of them have already been red-tagged as labelled as “dissenters to the existing policies and leadership.”

Listed as petitioners were Mark L. Averilla, Noelle Theresa E. Capili, Robby Derrick S. Cham, Victor Louis E. Crisostomo, Anthony Ian M. Cruz, Marita Q. Dinglasan, Thyssen C. Estrada, Mark Angelo C. Geronimo, Balbino Pada Guerrero Jr., Jover N. Laurio, John Carlo T. Mercado, Ramond de Vera Palatino, Lean Redino P. Porquia, Marcel Dar Stefan T. Punongbyan, Albert Louis R. Raqueno, Oliver Richard V. Robillo, Julius D. Rocas, Juan Miguel R. Severo, and Ma. Gia Grace B. Sison.

The petition’s respondents wereExecutive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea, Justice Secretary Menardo I. Guevarra, members of the Anti-Terrorism Council, the Armed Forces of the Philippines, the Philippine National Police, and various Cabinet members of the Duterte administration.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here