Department of Health (DOH) Secretary Francisco Duque III announced that the National Capital Region (NCR) will undergo another period of general community quarantine (GCQ) starting October 1 to 31.

Metro Manila, along with Batangas, Tacloban City, Bacolod City, Iligan City, and Iloilo City will be under GCQ, while Lanao del Sur will remain under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ).

The rest of the Philippines, meanwhile, will be under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ), as per the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) and approval of President Rodrigo Duterte.

Since June 1, Metro Manila has been under GCQ, excluding the two-week return to stricter MECQ in the first half of August. Under GCQ, public transportation is allowed to operate at a reduced capacity and most industries are permitted to open.

Since briefly reimposing MECQ last month to help relieve the overwhelmed healthcare system, Metro Manila has seen a downward trend in new infections, authorities, and health experts have noted.

NCR mayors also support GCQ’s extension for another month, citing the need to sustain the improvements in the country’s COVID-19 situation.

As of September 28, the DOH has confirmed a total of 307,288 COVID-19 cases in the country, including 252,665 recoveries and 5,381 deaths.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here